Just…keep breathing

A poem by Shrayansh Singh (3rd Year).

Hope is now a false lore,

Soothing, yet misleading more.

Struggle there is to endure,

Moribund life there is to survive,

Broken I am to the core.

 

Should I give in?

Should I cease breathing in?

This conundrum of survival is overwhelming.

The quandary is so confusing, exhausting,

A tight corner on the road mysteriously bending,

I look around for answers to questions,

Mocking my existence precariously.

Should I give in?

Should I stop breathing in?

Is giving up on one’s self just okay?

Is this battle worth fighting every day?

Waking up every morning,

With the fear of sinking in,

Heart clutched in the claws of Misery,

I slip into my shoes,

Too scared to go out,

Too weak to blurt out.

Should I give in?

Should I stop breathing in?

I ask myself this question,

Sitting in dark corner of this cave,

I ponder and ponder,

And think and yonder,

Bells didn’t ring, neither came any explanation.

 

Should I really stop breathing?

Whispered an old bird in a faint dream,

It twitched its frail wings,

shivered, coughed, breathed heavily.

Aged, its eyes were,

Face etched with struggles, experience the eyes bear.

Crooked shoulders. Flaky hair.

But full of energy, life, and air.

 

Should I really stop breathing?

Asked I to the wise old bird chirping.

Hope is rare, but a feeling so relieving,

A path of rose lies after the curve steeply bending,

If comes winter, how far lies the Spring?

What is life without troughs challenging?

What honour comes to warrior kneeling?

Light shall be here soon.

For now, just…keep breathing.

So, just…keep breathing, okay?

 

Leave a Reply

