An Awesome Answer from CSE Final Year Filmaker Binny Arora

How does the hostel room of AGH and PGH look like? Also who has the most cleanest room of all the girls?

I was asked to answer this.

I once entered Ambika Girls hostel in my second year at around 3 am on a Monday.  It was a plan I had been upto since 2 months. I analysed the entire hostel in those 2 months

  • The number of guards
  • The duty schedule of each guard
  • Acquired a blue print of the entire hostel from our architecture departement with the help of Sanchit Mehta
  • Room numbers of my female classmates

But what was I going to do there and why was I going ?
Because some men aren’t looking for anything logical. They can’t be bought, bullied, reasoned, or negotiated with. You see, ‘chutzpah’ is the word.

So, I was all set for that night. I ate my dinner at 7:30 and went to sleep since I was tired of the sleepless nights I spent planning this entire adventure.I woke up at 2 am. My roommates were sleeping. I took out the following things hidden in my cupboard.

( Oh, I made the smoke bomb by stealing Potassium Nitrate from our chemistry lab.That explains the 2 months I took. A lot of things were to be worried about you see. Every situation was to be thought upon)

So, I set out wearing black clothes and went my usual way towards the hostel from the OAT forest ( which I had already explored ). I located the fence I felt safe to cut and go through but it was on a 10 feet wall.

Now, How do I climb this wall ?

A month back when I reached the wall. I had to find a way to climb it.

  1. Arrange a ladder. Difficult.
  2. Try throwing a rope on the other side of the wall and somehow get it fixed.Being a less talented guy in these kind of things, I knew it would take       time. I had time. But it would be unusual for a guard on duty to see a rope fixed somewhere around a wall.
  3. Find an elevated area in the forest just behind the wall. Less chances.Found one. Relatively elevated than the rest. Had to take a long run to make a jump to just reach the fence.

I took the third option and made a run towards the wall but ended up hurting myself. After, 4 failed attempts, I  made it to the fence. Took out my swiss knife and started cutting the fence until I could slip myself through it to the other side. I also made sure to fix a rope here and climbed down using the rope. As soon as I  put my feet on the ground, I felt a sense of accomplishment which did not last long as I heard a whistle blown by a guard. But It was the usual one. ( Yes, I had kept this in mind while planning all this while).

Ambika Girls Hostel comprises of a Basement, Ground floor and 4 additional floors. There is no elevator service.
My classmates Sakshi Aggarwal Pratibha Verma lived in D-501 which meant I had to go up 4 more floors.

There I was, facing the D block of Ambika Girls Hostel at 3 am. According to my plan, I had to accomplish the following objectives:

  1. Surprise my female classmates mentioned above.
  2. Click a selfie inside a classmate’s room.
  3. Record a video of me walking through corridors.

There was no chance a guard would see me since the usual patrolling during that time covered A, B blocks ( as per my classmates). I took out my digicam and fixed it near my neck and pressed the record button. My senses were at their highest level of functionality and every step that I took was taken care of as I started moving towards the stairs. After climbing two floors, I saw a girl talking on the phone on the third floor. It was almost impossible for me to go to fourth floor without her noticing me. All I could do was wait for the call to end. It took her half an hour to end the call ( short as compared to usual couple talks) after which I continued to the fourth floor. The passage light on this floor was flickering which gave a little creepy feeling to the whole situation. I found D-501 and knocked. After 5 minutes, Pratibha opened the door and then I heard the most high pitched sound I had ever heard in my life. Within, 2-3 minutes the sounds of doors opening filled the corridor and this was the moment my heart said to my brain ‘ Mission Failed ‘. The brain calculated some parameters :

  • Time taken by guards to reach here assuming they were patrolling near the next block =  5-6 minutes
  • Time taken to reach the stairs from D-501 given I would encounter some girls and they might want catch hold of this thief  = 1-2 minutes.
  • Time taken by me to reach my exit point from the stairs
    = 3-4 minutes  without traffic ( girls)
    = 5-10 minutes with traffic

I calculated I had around 5 minutes to reach my exit point with a chance of encountering the guards on my way. In a few seconds, I pulled out my lighter, ignited a smoke bomb and thew it on the passage floor and pushed myself into the smoke guessing the stairs were 5 steps away. I heard a lot  of confused voices and shrieks when I reached the stairs. It took me 1-2 minutes to reach the ground floor only to see the two guards running towards me under the bright moonlight. I pulled out the second bomb, ignited it and  thew it towards them before making my way to the exit point.

When I reached there, I saw the rope lying on the yard.. I guess I hadn’t tied it properly. So, there I was standing in front of a 10 feet wall with a damaged fence above it and  two guards who could reach here anytime.

It was over. Mission failed. Everything was over. Those two months spent on this plan seemed useless now. Just a shriek by Pratibha and my whole plan went into dust. I was angry. I was hopeless. I was conquered by fear of getting myself suspended. So, I ran for my life alongside the empty yard but where ? I didnt know. I was just running. I could  see room lights being turned on, hear footsteps of girls coming out of their block. But I kept on running until I reached the front side and to my amazement, There was no one at the gate. No one ? It seemed all guards went to D block or must have reached my exit point. So I ran and did not stop until I crossed the bridge near shop number 4.

This was the moment I said to myself “Chutzpah Accomplished” and went back to hostel. While changing my clothes, I realized the camera was missing. I still don’t know where dropped my camera. Who got hold of it ?  It’s a mystery till date.

So, To answer your question about how are the rooms inside AGH all I can say is they are pretty normal based on what I could see beyond Pratibha when she opened the door.

Lol.

P.S. I don’t know shit about any girls hostel. This incident never happened. I am a loner who sits in his room all day spending time on the internet or sometimes code.

Leave a comment